Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Help needed! Diverting a brook near the map's edge  (Read 2976 times)

Merthyn

• Bay Watcher
  • Block aficionado
    • View Profile
Help needed! Diverting a brook near the map's edge
« on: June 13, 2017, 08:16:54 am »

Prophetmirrored is looking for experts to aid in the coercion of our unruly running water to change its direction!

Our local brook staunchly refuses to freeze during our temperate winter, and I need it redirected away from my entrance and into my waterworks. However! I'm a noob at pumps and pump construction, so my first attempt with a few side by side screw pumps did not manage to halt the flow of the brook completely.

So here's me reaching out to all the pump experts of the community, can you help?! Here's the situation:

The gray area on the left side is the map edge, so construction is possible up to the river block next to the top red line.
Those that can give me a picture/pump design that can help me stem the flow of the insubordinate water shall be named and praised in Prophetmirrored!
Far be it from me to conform my design to practicality.

You left a hole in your defensive perimeter/cavern system/water pipes. You will not find it before fun finds it first.

PatrikLundell

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Help needed! Diverting a brook near the map's edge
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2017, 11:48:34 am »

What are you actually trying to achieve? Pumps might not be the right tools...
- Are you trying to block the brook and have it flow into your moat? Magma is the best choice, but pumps can be used to allow dorfs to work down in a channeled out brook tile, while a ramp on the adjacent tile is kept free of water by a by another pump (to allow the working dorf to get down there to do the cancellation spamming work).