Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How deep are the caverns, and can I make them less deep?  (Read 7606 times)

Nilik

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
How deep are the caverns, and can I make them less deep?
« on: March 23, 2011, 09:15:53 pm »

I've had the same pattern emerge several times since I started playing DF. I get a basic fort set up, think "Ooh, lets explore the caverns!", then realise how far down the caverns are and give up ever doing anything useful with them.

Is it normal for the first cavern to be about 50 levels down? I've always wanted to use cavern-water to supply my fort, but having to build 50+ screw pumps for the privilage seems excessive. Likewise, starting my fort proper near the caverns makes getting to the surface a pain.

Is there any way to squash the caverns up a bit? If I'm literally going to have to dig through hundreds of Z levels to get to the magma sea, I'll probably never get there at this rate!

Starver

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: How deep are the caverns, and can I make them less deep?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2011, 09:25:42 pm »

It might be different in mountainous areas compared with plains, but even when I specifically extend my caverns (changing the ?5? level default separations between each cavern layer to 15 levels) I rarely get the first cavern 50 levels deep, so my first impression is that this is odd.

It may depend on which world-template you go for (pocket to large), but I wouldn't really know as I rarely build entire worlds less than Large (and the non-island version of that, also, in case there's a difference between them).