Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Extracts Article  (Read 1770 times)

Leonidas

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Extracts Article
« on: September 15, 2010, 12:58:53 am »

I'm no expert on extracts.  I've never milked a purring maggot or squeezed a moghopper.  But the Extracts article is wrong in so many ways.

1.  Extracts is not an entry in the Stocks menu.  I think it appears on the embark menu.  The article needs some clear idea of what counts as an extract, and why the term is even meaningful in DF.  I suggest: "Extracts are liquids extracted from animals and plants in a workshop.  Some extracts are currently functional, while others have not yet been implemented."

2.  The article is wrong on which extracts can be produced in-game.  I propose to reorganize it in two simple lists or charts: working extracts and non-working extracts.  Each entry shows the extract, the workshop that produces it, the ingredient, the labor, the value, and the use.

3.  Is there really a good reason to even have an extracts article?  Maybe it would be better to have a comprehensive list of liquids.  It could include references to the articles on water, magma, blood, alcohol, and milk.  I don't see any reason for lumping together a subset of the liquids and calling them extracts.  It might be interesting if extracts all came from animals, but apparently Gnomeblight comes from Kobold Bulbs.

n9103

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • My Steam
Re: Extracts Article
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2010, 11:11:42 am »

RE #3) well, liquids other than extracts are pretty straightforward and easy to obtain, (if obtainable at all). I think the main thing that sets extracts apart is that they're products of a workshop, and not naturally occurring. (haven't looked at the article, though.)

Leonidas

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2010, 01:21:45 pm »