Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Giant Eagle capturing?  (Read 3216 times)

Zigzom24

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Giant Eagle capturing?
« on: July 02, 2011, 08:44:53 pm »

I embarked on a map with a Giant Eagle soaring around and I realized I had no idea how to lure it into a cage trap. I searched the forums and couldn't find anything about it, so does anyone have any advice? And are giant badgers tameable? Because a Giant eagle/Giant badger would be fantastic. I understand that due to the Dungeon Master being broken that I have to edit the raws, but I don't want to edit it in things that aren't normally available. I have most of the game under my belt and have played for about two years, but I'm only a dabbling animal trainer. Any help would be appreciated.

P.S. To anyone who plays the Fortress Defense Mod, can a Giant Eagle take on a harpy?

NecroRebel

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Giant Eagle capturing?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2011, 08:57:09 pm »

Your best bet for capturing flyers is to put some catch traps under a roof. They tend to stay close to the ground, and will often go under obstacles instead of over them.

Giant eagles and badgers are exotic pets, so the Dungeon Master workaround would make them tameable.

Giant eagles are fairly good-sized creatures, but that doesn't compensate for equipment. Metal weapons and skill will greatly compensate for the eagles' larger size, so I'd guess that eagles vs. harpies would probably usually go to the harpies.
A Better Magma Pump Stack: For all your high-FPS surface-level magma installation needs!

GreatWyrmGold

• Bay Watcher
  • Sane, by the local standards.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2011, 08:58:56 pm »

Giant eagles and badgers are exotic pets, so the Dungeon Master workaround would make them tameable.
In other words, remove the -EXOTIC from [PET_EXOTIC]