Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: The creeping blackness  (Read 1947 times)

Iamblichos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
The creeping blackness
« on: July 04, 2015, 01:33:02 pm »

So... I had a 2 year old fort, about 60 dwarfs, and was digging some quarters for the new mayor.

Suddenly, I get messages that the miners were unable to path to drink.  WTF?  So I 'z' onto them... and they aren't there.  There is just a black box over where the corner of the room they had been digging was.  It wasn't interactive - some sort of graphics glitch I guess?  Never seen this before, and haven't modded the LNB or gotten a new update in weeks.

Anyone else seen this?  And is it repairable?
I'm new to succession forts in general, yes, but do all forts designed by multiple overseers inevitably degenerate into a body-filled labyrinth of chaos and despair like this? Or is this just a Battlefailed thing?

There isn't much middle ground between killed-by-dragon and never-seen-by-dragon.

Baffler

• Bay Watcher
  • Caveat Lector.
    • View Profile
Re: The creeping blackness
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2015, 02:21:09 pm »

That sounds similar to what happens when you use DFhack's 'reveal' then do 'unreveal' after dwarves have moved into mined out areas that were previously hidden. The tiles end up hidden again and the dwarves get confused because they're in unknown territory. Try using revflood on some adjacent visible tile if you have DFhack, that fixes it in the above situation at least.
Quote from: Helgoland
Even if you found a suitable opening, I doubt it would prove all too satisfying. And it might leave some nasty wounds, depending on the moral high ground's geology.
Location subject to periodic change.
Baffler likes silver, walnut trees, the color green, tanzanite, and dogs for their loyalty. When possible he prefers to consume beef, iced tea, and cornbread. He absolutely detests ticks.