Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Healthcare, illness and injury overhaul  (Read 1027 times)

Malakai

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Healthcare, illness and injury overhaul
« on: April 05, 2011, 02:58:30 am »

Hello all, I'm fairly new to DF and am really enjoying such a in depth game. I'm not up to date with what has previously been suggested so forgive me if I accidentaly regurgitate a suggestion.

I find the hospital zone and it's related effects on health one of the most interesting parts of Dwarf Fortress and I have come up with a suggestion that could enhance and expand how the hospital works as well as giving the different types of doctor skills a method of training that doesn't require losses during combat.

First it would be helpful to have a building/workshop that would give your medical dwarfs a "job" that makes them stay within the hospital zone and forfill tasks that might pop up within the hospital. The job would last until that dwarf gets hungry/thirsty/tired etc. This is because I beleive using a burrow on top of the hospital to ensure speedy diagnosis/healing is really cumbersome.

Then add in workplace injurys, for exapmle - Urist McCarpenter Sprains his wrist then goes to the hospital and gets the on duty doctors to diagnose his injury and then gets a wound dressor to wrap his sprained wrist. Urist McWoodburner get burned and gets diagnosed and then surjury(skin graft) and a wound dressing, Urist McHauler breaks his leg carring a rock up a set of stairs etc etc.
These injurys would give the doctors a small but steady stream of injurys to deal with that would help them train.