Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Making dwarves use custom weapons / How to make katana > longsword  (Read 3772 times)

LuckyNinja

• Bay Watcher
  • AKA Mr. Squiffy || AKA LuminiferousPen
    • View Profile

Okay, so here's the problem: it's my first time messing about with the raws, and I decided to add a few new weapons, a new metal etc...

So I made a katana, with the following RAW entry:

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

now compared to that of a long sword:

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Katana size > longsword, and I believe I made the katanas attack with a greater velocity (I don't know if that affects the speed rating though)

HOWEVER

Enter arena mode, I decide to compare the two, and the longsword wins. Repeatedly. Going over the logs, it appears that while the dwarf with the longsword was attacking almost every time with his sword, the katana-dwarf would repeatedly decide to scratch, punch and bite, and every time he tried using the katana it got parried.

So I ask, what is the explanation of the katana being completely unable to block, and getting blocked every time? Why is the dwarf barely deciding to use the weapon? Why is the longsword striking first every time?

and more importantly, how do I fix this?

Regards,
Lucky

Update: Weapons it currently is inferior to (1 v 1):

Longsword
Shortsword
Battleaxe - roughly equal to, still not good

Addendum: Does the weight of the material of the weapon affect it's power?  I made a custom metal at least three times as dense as any other, yet when I used arena to test it in warhammer form (under idea of e=1/2mv^2, with "e" being kinetic force, so with a much greater value for "m" than typical")  yet the best I got was BRUISES and the occasional fracture. No asploding into giblets, or being belted across the arena. Bruises. Am I doing something wrong?
« Last Edit: June 01, 2011, 02:17:50 pm by LuckyNinja »
Steam page!