Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Bay Watcher....  (Read 2404 times)

whatever1works

• Bay Watcher
  • *Flips table*
    • View Profile
Bay Watcher....
« on: March 10, 2015, 12:45:29 am »

Long time lurker..
I've been playing Dwarf Fortress for probs 2 years, checking the forumns for useful guides and such. However,
Today it had just occured to me what 'Bay Watcher' means on the little descriptor thing on the side of the profile side.
Bay Watcher, as in a watcher of Bay12...   :'(   ::)

Took me long enough.

What I'd always thought it meant:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Anyway, a related question, why are is Bay12 called Bay12? Truely, what is the significance of this name? Why 12? Why Bay?

"Do you want some fish balls?", "No thanks I'll have a steak please"

Putnam

• Bay Watcher
  • DAT WIZARD
    • View Profile
Re: Bay Watcher....
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 12:51:28 am »

Bay 12 is an alien reference IIRC. Starcraft 2 had the same reference, though there was also a stout, bearded mechanical genius in the room, so I guess that's a double reference.

Also, pretty sure Bay Watcher is a pun on Bay Watch anyway.

whatever1works

• Bay Watcher
  • *Flips table*
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2015, 01:11:56 am »

I didn't know that... it seems an awfully obscure thing to reference, i mean DF and Starcraft are like chalk and cheese. Aside from the mechanic you mentioned, i kinda feel that there could be SO many different things to reference dwarves to, like Snow White and 7 Dwarves, and really any stuff related to beer, gold, gems, alcohol, magma, LoTR, industry, metalworking, etc. Like what does Bay Watch have to do with DF?

Dwarves can't even swim if you dont train them...
"Do you want some fish balls?", "No thanks I'll have a steak please"

smakemupagus

• Bay Watcher
  • [CANOPENDOORS]
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 01:16:59 am »