Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 29

Author Topic: [47.05] Spellcrafts Mod - Basic Magic in Dwarf Fortress  (Read 167857 times)

Eric Blank

• Bay Watcher
  • *Remain calm*
    • View Profile
[47.05] Spellcrafts Mod - Basic Magic in Dwarf Fortress
« on: March 16, 2015, 11:26:09 pm »

This is the next iteration of the release of "Spellcrafts," a mod I've been working on for a few years now.

This time there are more ways to learn spells, and at the moment no way to know any magic innately (creating an adventurer who already knows magics, I mean.) except to start as a wizard (creature).
You can;
Learn spells from secrets stored in towers of great sorcerers - slabs might also be stored elsewhere, as not all secrets allow building towers.
Learn from the lectures of wizards, or murder them and drink their blood.
And study on your own. This will take time, perseverance, an inscribed slate, and lots of junk to grind into aether salts for the reaction. You can also use aether salts to conjure basic items like food or drink in adventure mode, although the utility of this is negligible.

The magics you can learn are further described in the following post

The mod can be downloaded from here:
Main Mod Download

But additional steps must be taken during installation for now:

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

A legacy version for DF version 44.12 is available here
http://dffd.bay12games.com/file.php?id=15030

A copy of the current readme file can be found here:
The readme file has a little more information regarding these things, so check it out if you need help, or ask in this thread/PM me.

If there's anything else that needs to be said or done with the readme file, let me know.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2021, 08:00:54 pm by Eric Blank »
I make Spellcrafts!